A single mother’s view on the holiday season

Ever have a panic attack?   They really do suck.

  • Your heart starts to beat far too quickly.
  • Your pupils dilate, making you wonder if someone slipped LSD into your morning coffee.
  • Your breathing becomes laboured.
  • And you are convinced that a heart attack is fast approaching, or that you may pass out cold at the most inappropriate moment.

The end of the year always seems to be prime time for me to lose my cool.   It is the time of year that we are supposed to reflect on what was accomplished, be grateful for what we have and then plan for the year to come.

Not I.

Instead…..

  • I am rushing to come up with a trendy idea for my daughter’s birthday party.
  • Trying to think of an appropriate present for her that is not a new brother or sister (her yearly request).
  • Bake a cake (I HATE BAKING).
  • Work triple time to tie up loose ends in order to take time off.
  • Prepare for the end of year Board meeting.
  • Attend several have-to Christmas parties.
  • Try to find money to buy presents for everyone.
  • … and all the while do my very best to sleep at least 5 hours a night.

Anxiety has understandably formed a strategic alliance with Christmas.

The positive side is that it makes January to November seem fairly relaxed.

Happy holidays,

JT (Janet Tarasofsky)

