GET UP!

motivate

It’s 10pm on Sunday night. Little feet are walking above my head…..back and forth, back and forth.

I call to my daughter:  ‘Darling, for the 8th time, please go to sleep’ I say, ‘you are going to be exhausted tomorrow morning’.  Unsurprisingly I receive the usual response of: ‘Stop worrying so much mum, I’ll be absolutely fine’.

 

 

It’s Monday morning at 7:15am.  I put on my cheeriest voice, take a deep breath and I walk into my daughter’s room:

‘Time to get up Baby!’

No reply.

‘Good morning sunshine…. It’s a beautiful day.’

No reply.

‘Wake up sleepy head!’

No reply.

‘DUDE YOU HAVE TO GET UPPPPPPPPPPPP!’ 

This gets her attention.  She sits up, rubs her eyes and smiles.  Our day begins.

I really want to say the following: ‘See, I told you so.  You need to go to sleep earlier, you are growing, your body needs more rest.  Child you must start listening to me!

But I don’t say any of the above.

And here is why:

 

It’s Wednesday evening.  I get home from work, and I am exhausted.  I have had people screaming at me all day.  Everything that could have possibly gone wrong t work has, in fact, done so.  Suppliers have let me down, shipments got lost at sea, calculation errors on pricing, printers ran the wrong colours, and the coffee ran out.

On my way back from work, I discover that my email has been hacked and everyone in my contact list has received an email from me announcing that I am in Manila, I have lost my wallet and I need them to send money immediately.  This results in many concerned messages and calls.  In addition, my Linked in account has been compromised and lord knows what is being sent to my professional contacts.

When I walk through the door at my house, I get an email form my au pair telling me that she has is still on the other side of the world and will need to extend her holiday for 3 more months!

By 9pm, I am so fed up that I just crawl into bed.

 

It’s Thursday morning.  7:15am and my daughter walks into my room.

Mommy, it’s time to get up.

No reply.

‘Mommy, it’s a bright and sunny day, get up.’

No reply.

Wake up sleepy mommy.

Covers go over my head.

MOMMMMMMMYYYYY.  YOU NEED TO GET UP AND START YOUR DAY.  I NEED YOU.

This I hear.  I get up.  I smile and I start my day.

 

Sometimes we all need a harsh awakening.  A reminder that we need to keep getting up.

 

Thanks for reading,

JT

For those of you who are watching me suffer.  Here is my Vblog, here it is:

first week of no smoking

 

 

