Confidence & Wrinkles

I apologise for the short pause in my blogging, I have been delivering several speeches within the beauty industry as well as within the competitive framework of Toastmasters.   And I have loved every second of it.

Sometimes I think back to my past and I chuckle. Because up until I was 9 years old, you could barely hear my voice…ironically I was as quiet as a mouse! People had to put their ears to my mouth to hear what I had to say….

…and I didn’t want to say much. I was shy, I was timid, and I was afraid to be laughed at.

I have changed. But it took a really long time. At first I faked it by pretending to be much more confident than I was. I then found that if you fake something long enough, you can become it….on the outside anyway.  It is about training the mind and I truly believe that anyone can do it.

keep-calm-and-fake-it-5

This theory reminds me very much of the ‘Frownie’ patch which claims to take care of wrinkles.  They are kind of like putting adhesive tape on your skin in order to train the muscles how to behave differently. Very much like how Botox will help prevent wrinkles in the future because your muscles learn to depend on different facial muscles to function. Well these babies will smooth your wrinkles out with tape and hold your skin in place during the night. The muscles of the face cannot move under the patch, keeping you from frowning or expressing while you sleep…. training the muscles.

Please note that I have NO CLUE if they actually work.  I simply liked the idea of forcing a part of you to do something that it does not instinctively want to do. Because sometimes that is the best way to reach your goals.

Thank you for reading,

JT

Side note:  When I was a kid, my mother used to tell me never to leave the window open when I slept, in case a draft came through and froze my face into the position I was sleeping in. Apparently this very thing happened to my aunt Bessie, who’s mouth always curved unnaturally upwards when she was not smiling. I wonder if you had your Frownie on while the window was open…..

